Taxpayer Bill of Rights

Did you know that the IRS publishes a Taxpayer Bill of Rights? The Taxpayer Advocate Service (TAS) explains taxpayer rights on the TAS website. What are the ten rights?

You have:

  1. The right to be informed
  2. The right to quality service
  3. The Right to Pay No More than the Correct Amount of Tax
  4. The Right to Challenge the IRS’s Position and Be Heard
  5. The Right to Appeal an IRS Decision in an Independent Forum
  6. The Right to Finality
  7. The Right to Privacy
  8. The Right to Confidentiality
  9. The Right to Retain Representation
  10. The Right to a Fair and Just Tax System

To learn more about these rights, click on the links above.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.